Setting and Calling XTargets without UF

Soandso

Reaction score
I have some questions before I start mucking around with this idea I have. Please note that I am very new to coding for MQ but I'm learning fast. My question concerns the extended target aspect of EQ. I wasn't playing when UF came out so I don't have much fundamental knowledge of the XTarget's use in normal EQ so I'm only theorycrafting here. In fact, I'm going to talk through my thought process as I'd like some feedback on the whole thing (this is a learning practice for me).

I have logged in a toon on the one account I have that has UF so that I could see the functionality of the XTarget window. Then I learned that even if your on the TLP a macro can access the XTargets because the data is still there you just can't open the window.

As I understand it the TLP and the regular servers are running the same base server code so my theory is that if the only thing keeping the TLP from using the Xtargets in normal play is the deactivation of the window itself then that may be true for any account without UF.

So, do you think or does someone know for sure can a non-UF account access the Xtarget functionality through macros? If so, is there an example somewhere?

Secondly I've done some searching but I'm not finding the info I'm looking for on really working with Xtargets in macros. Most people seem to talk like their audience already understands some fundamentals which makes sense since most of you have been around before, during and after the implementation of this feature. I really try to help myself first but I'm not getting very lucky here.

Is there somewhere someone can point me to with info about manipulating Xtargets via macros? Something more tutorial, wiki or guide like?

Thanks for any feedback, ideas or help.